Cook Islands Anti-Corruption Committee.

The Ombudsman is a member of the Cook Islands Anti-Corruption Committee.  Other jurisdictions have standalone agencies which deal specifically with corruption related issues.  In Fiji’s case this is called the Fiji Independent Commission Against Corruption (FICAC).  In the Cook Islands however, there is no standalone agency responsible for the investigation of corruption.  Instead we have several Government Ministries, Crown Agencies whose legislation authorises them to investigate complaints including those corrupt in nature.

The Cook Islands Anti-Corruption Committee comprises of:

  • Chief of Staff of the Office of the Prime Minister, Mr Ben Ponia
  • Solicitor General, Crown Law Office, Mr Stuart Baker
  • Financial Secretary, Ministry of Finance & Economic Management, Mr Garth Henderson
  • Commissioner of Police, Ministry of Police, Mr Maara Tetava
  • Director of Audit, Audit Office, Mr Allen Parker
  • Chief Executive Officer, Financial Intelligence Unit, Mr Phil Hunkin
  • Ombudsman, Te Mato Akamoeau Office of the Ombudsman, Mr Nooapii Tearea.
  • Public Service Commissioner, Office of the Public Service Commission, Mr Russell Thomas

The Anti-Corruption Committee is tasked with the co-ordination of anti-corruption initiatives including reporting against the progress of implementing the UNCAC.